"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Eggs, Cheese & Dairy
Old 01-19-2007, 05:22 PM   #1
Chef Extraordinaire
Fried Eggs

Do you think that the temperature of the eggs themselves.. before frying effects the finished product as in just out of the fridge or room temp etc.

Not looking for recipes nor how to suggestions..just your thoughts on the egg temperature prior to frying........

Uncle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 05:42 PM   #2
Master Chef
Bob, I Googled "perfect fried egg", and didn't find anything that mentioned whether the egg should be room temperature or out of the fridge.
I have noticed that a lot of TV chefs take them out of a bowl on the counter, but that may be merely for esthetic purposes.

We get by with a little help from our friends
Constance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 06:02 PM   #3
Head Chef
As always, I'm no expert! I fill a bowl with hotish tap water and put the eggs in it while the bacon or grits are cooking. Eggs cook pretty quickly and it does seem to me that whether they hit the pan or 40 or 80 degrees does make a difference.
Old bachelor cook

skilletlicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 06:18 PM   #4
Executive Chef
I've only ever used refrigerated eggs, and they come out great. I think much of how your fried eggs turns out has to do with the temperature of the pan and probably the type of pan as well. I use a non stick skillet with just a tad of canolla and a tad of butter.
amber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 08:05 PM   #5
Master Chef
I also use eggs right out of the fridge with terrific results. Lots & lots of butter & a medium temp seems to work best for me. The temp of the eggs doesn't seem to make a difference.
BreezyCooking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 08:59 PM   #6
Senior Cook