Raclette ideas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kadesma

Chef Extraordinaire
Moderator Emeritus
I was given a Raclette grill for Christmas. I am now getting, when are we going to try it out, what do you use on it? I've never done this before. The booklet that comes with the grill suggests par boiled baby youkon gold potatoes and the Swiss Rackette cheese..side dishes to include, dried meats such as proscuitto, parma ham, also baguettes, Gherkins, pickled onions.
If any of you have done this or have ideas, I"d love to hear what you did and how you liked it. I have a beautiful hunk of the French Raclette cheese, just waiting for me. to get it in gear .:LOL:

kadesma

Oh, oh. We gave a raclette grill to our kids for Christmas and a cookbook to go with it. The recipe the OP is quoting is the traditional raclette--melt the cheese, spread on the potatoes and put the condiments on the plate. But the cookbook (on Amazon--about $10) has a LOAD of recipes for all kinds of things that are just terrific.
We ate in a restaurant in Paris that had raclette. Our DDIL ordered raclette and melted the cheese in the little cup under the top of the stone grill. DD and her husband had grilled meats to fix on top. Wonderful meal and lots of fun.
Raclette can be done (not so romantically) without the grill by melting the cheese in the microwave and serving with the other accompaniments.

This is a very interesting piece of equipment and I often wished I had a use for it. If you google, "Uses for Raclette" you will tons of ideas on what to grill and the cheeses to use. There is a specialty cheese from Wisconsin called "Raclette" and I buy it because it is so good, but you can use several different other cheeses. Go to google for a lot of answers.

Thanks Candocook and Drama queen..
Will go google and see what I can find.

kadesma:LOL:

kitchenelf said: