What's your favorite grilled cheese sandwich?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Brings back college days

I lived on grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch when I was a student at the University of Miami, Florida. Can't recall the last time I ate one since. :chef: Maybe I overdosed?

NAchef, those pics made my mouth water! When it comes to grilled cheese I guess I'm a traditionalist (read: boring). American cheese (deli sliced, not the "wallet cheese" in plastic wrap), sturdy white bread, touch of butter on the outside if you're grilling. It tastes even better if you grill your sandwich in a pan that has just been used to saute/caramelize onions. mmmmm Just a hint of onion. Gotta put a slice of tomato in it, too. As a kid I liked sweet pickle slices slipped into the melted cheese. Now I'll have to spend the rest of the winter experimenting.

My favorite "grilled" cheese sandwich is done under the broiler! Ate this the first time at a (now defunct) vegetarian restaurant in Cleveland just up from University Circle. Slab of whole wheat bread, very thinly sliced fresh mushrooms (although I suppose you can use whatever veggies you want) and a stack of thin slices of cheddar or swiss cheese. Grill until cheese is gooey melty, veggies are warm, and edges of bread are browning. Heavenly!

coookies, hope you and your friends had a nice warm visit since the weather outside is so "winter".:)

For breakfast- 3 slices of Pepperidge Farms sourdough topped with sliced cheddar or manchego (not all manchego is created equal) topped with sliced onion. Baked in toaster oven until onions soften and cheese is bubbly.

For breakfast- 3 slices of Pepperidge Farms sourdough topped with sliced cheddar or manchego (not all manchego is created equal) topped with sliced onion. Baked in toaster oven until onions soften and cheese is bubbly.