Will my yogurt be safe to eat?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mollydog

Assistant Cook
Hi, I'm a newbie and am desperate for some advice. Last evening when I was making dinner, I started to heat skimmed store bought milk (not raw) to make yogurt, about half a gallon of milk. I got distracted and boiled the milk. Then, I got distracted some more and went to bed. My starter from my last batch I left out on the counter as well as the boiled milk. I'm very upset because it's so much milk to waste. Thinking I have nothing to lose at this point, I tasted the milk this morning, and it seemed fine, just sweet. I hadn't added anything to it when I boiled it. Without reheating the milk, I mixed in the starter, dry milk and a little sugar. I put the milk in the little jars to incubate in the yogurt maker and left for work. My kitchen was probably 70 degrees last night.

Is this batch a lost cause? Should I dump it? Or do you think it's still safe?

Thanks!

I think you will be fine as long as yogurt comes out of it. I never heard of making yogurt from boiled milk. The very reason you’d boil the milk so it doesn’t spoil, and what is yogurt if not a spoiled milk.
But, I am interested in your starter idea, can you please elaborate more.

Thanks, for your help! I'll let you know whether the yogurt turned out okay when I get home.

Charlie, technically, you're not supposed to boil the milk, just heat it enough to denature the proteins so it'll gel. Milk has no lactobacillus in it so you have to add it, e.g., from a previously made batch of yogurt. Is that what you're looking for?

Update