"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Breads, Pizza & Sandwiches

Old 12-20-2003, 08:50 PM   #1
Senior Cook

bread is not soft enough

my bread always turns out really 'heavy' & not very soft. After a sitting for a day, even though i keep it covered, it basically turns into a brick.
i'm trying to make a loaf of bread that has a very crunchy, hard outer crust, but is very spongy & soft on the inside. i can give more details about my processes if it will help.
ps. this is about my 5th loaf i've ever made, so i'm pretty new to this.
thanks,

Wine in a box is better than no wine at all.
carnivore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2003, 12:00 AM   #2
Senior Cook

well, i tried an "experiment" tonight, and it worked out pretty well.
the bread recipes i use always instruct you to let the dough rise in a bowl, then punch it down and let it rise again. I was just thinking that by punching it down you're taking away all the airspaces which essentially make the bread soft, so i tried just making the dough, kneading it, separating it into the appropriate amount of pieces, letting it rise once, and baking it. i eliminated several steps, cut down on my preparation time, and the bread turned out much lighter, fluffier, and softer.
Yeah!
Next time i'm going to try doubling the amount of yeast i use. I'll see if this helps or not.

Old 12-21-2003, 07:12 AM   #3
Senior Cook

Carnivore;
I think you may be overwoorking your dough. When I first got married, I was the bread baker in the family as my wife looved the fresh Italian and French breads I made. I HATE to bake and showed her how so I wouldn't have to. Her first several efforts were dense and heavy. So we did one together and the woman was throwing that dough around like a rodeo rider bulldogging a calf. She was WAY overworking it. Now, her breadsare always beautiful.
Old 12-21-2003, 11:54 AM   #4
Senior Cook

thanks for the tip BubbaGourmet,