"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Breads, Pizza & Sandwiches
Old 12-19-2005, 06:56 AM   #1
Master Chef
Christmas Tree Failure

Ya know, a few successes and a guy starts feeling invincible. I mad a loaf of bread in the shape of a christmas tree. I increased the sugar in the recipe but found myself lacking sufficient yeast in the house to do it properly. This recipe required 9 cups of flour to produce the amount of dough I wanted.

To make a long story short, too little rise time, and insufficient ingredient amounts resulted ina a very good tasting, but heavy and tough bread. I am so dissapointed with myself. so for the pot-luck, I'm going to have to do something I've never done before. I'm going to go to the pastry shop and by a box of doughnuts today.

Taht whole thing about preperation, make sure you follow it. Purchase your supplies before it's crunch time. Make sure you have your plan well thought out. Don't rely on your ability to wing it. Remember, the best thing about cooking, is the smile on the faces of those who eat your food.

I have pulled off so many dishes that weren't planned properly. It was time for a fall to bring me back to reality. Don't let this be you!
And, Have a Merry Christmas.

Seeeeeya; Goodweed of the North

“No amount of success outside the home can compensate for failure within the home…"

Check out my blog for the friendliest cooking instruction on the net. Go ahead. You know you want to.- http://gwnorthsfamilycookin.wordpress.com/
Chief Longwind Of The North is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 07:03 AM   #2
Executive Chef
Send a message via AIM to Piccolina Send a message via MSN to Piccolina Send a message via Yahoo to Piccolina