"Hot Roll Mix" Where can I get it?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KIMMYM73

Assistant Cook
Can anyone tell me where I can find "hot roll mix"? I am at a loss! I am new to bread baking, but I found this awesome looking recipe in one of my cooking mags that calls for hot roll mix. I know I can make it myself, which I did do, but the recipe calls for a 16oz box of roll mix....How much of my homemade mix (I know this sounds dumb :() do I use and how much yeast? I was experimenting with the hot roll mix I made and made (tried to make ) pan rolls today.........they were the heaviest things I have ever had! Yuck!! Although, I brushed them with egg yolks and the top crust of them was great with a little butter. Anyway, I made a braid out of some of the mix also, I have not baked it yet but it really looks pretty. I sprinkled it with parm cheese and garlic powder, we will see how that turns out. Any suggestions will be much appreciated! By the way I think I have read every thread in the 'bread' forum, so alot of my questions have been answered! Thanks

Here is a recipe for Hot Roll Mix.

Do you weigh your dry ingredients or use cups? 16oz is roughly 2 cups. As to the yeast I would use about 1.5tsp for that amount of flour or hot roll mix. Read that link I posted, it will give you some idea of proportions for what you want to make.

Thank you so much, I am going to go to that site right now. I only bought a 3 pack of yeast, would you recommed using rapid rise or the yeast that I bought before? I guess I am off to the store for more yeast. This is going to be a very interesting evening full of bread making!!! :ROFLMAO:

I use either method of measuring the ingredients out, but with as far as the roll mix, I figured I should just weigh out 16 oz of it. I just wanted a little reinforcement! :) Off for yeast.