ISO Good bread recipes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chocoholic

Senior Cook
My family loves homemade bread, yeast or quick. I'm not very experienced in this area, mainly doing desserts (as you can see by the name :)) so I thought I'd collect some to try out. Could some of you bread-makers out there please post your favorite bread recipes for me?

Thanks in advance!

Check out the NY Times Bread Recipe for a wonderful loaf of bread.

There are also many recipes right here in this forum. I'd start by browsing the recipes already posted. :chef:

If you are unfamiliar with baking bread, you might want to get a bread machine (one that has a DOUGH cycle) to do the kneading and the first rise part of making bread.

Once the bread has gone through this cycle, you can form the bread into a loaf or loaves and let it rise for the final time. Then bake normally. You'll impress your family with your bread-baking skills.

And, by the way, I purchased one of my bread machines at a thrift store for $2.

As suggested, try the N.Y. Times bread. It's nothing short of awesome and too easy to be believed.

Here is a site I just came across. Scroll down a bit and there are primers about bread baking that look quite good. But give my bread recipe a try too.

Welcome to the Fresh Loaf | The Fresh Loaf

I want you to become a rock star bread baker. You need to make the "sourdough" starter for this bread but you will be REWARDED by the 3-5 days it takes. Potato bread is a delicious bread in itself, and very very easy to make. It has a great texture. This recipe can be used for many variations, the main one you might like to try is to sub whole wheat flour for 3C of the white flour.