Low or NO Sodium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Hello all! My name is Michael and I am new to DiscussCooking.com.

I am also new to something else. Heart disease. 3 weeks ago in the efforts to remove a Tumor the doctors found that my heart was too weak (was pumping at 22%). Instead of removing the tumor, which was postponed, I had a heart operation:huh: They told me that I have had several heart attacks and one was in my mid 20s. Being that I am only 38 years old, I suppose I am kinda bumbed out.

Because of the sodium content in store bread, I am back to baking my own:chef: . Not bad really. I'm a very good bread baker! With salt... I tried some without salt and well.... lets just say I had really underestimated the importance salt has in bread.

I have had a couple of successes though. I left out the salt and added Vital Wheat Glutten. They came out INCREDIBLE! Very airy. It is if the salt was never taken out.

So my question to you all is what do you do? For those of you who can not have salt in your recipe, how do you get the bread to come out without the texture of a brick.

Michael, even if you use a little bit of salt in your bread, it isn't going to be anywhere near the amount in store bread.
I'm not a bread baker, but there was a time that I worked really hard at being one. Best I can remember, about 1 tsp of salt will make two loaves of bread. How much sodium do think that would be per slice? I'd guess the amount would be miniscule.
Your body needs a little bit of sodium to operate properly...it acts as an electrolyt that transfers the brain's messages to the rest of your body...including your heart.
I'd recommend your using Lite Salt, which is potassium chloride rather than sodium chloride, but your doctor is probably monitering your potassium closely, so I would check with him first.