"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Breads, Pizza & Sandwiches

Old 04-09-2008, 10:14 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Need to switch flour due to cost

Well, flour is ridiculous these days as most of us know. I always buy KA flour (both bread and AP) and today at the store it was $5.50 a bag. Sheesh! I do a lot of baking and go through a lot of flour and this just isn't feasible.

Are any of the other brands decent - like Gold Medal, Pillsbury, etc.? I was going to buy it direct from KA but that doesn't end up being any cheaper, in fact its a bit more expensive by the time you add in shipping.

Old 04-09-2008, 10:18 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire

Send a message via AIM to suziquzie
They are all just fine and all cost just the same. I paid 5.50 for Pillsbury today. Thats just the way it's gonna be.

Old 04-09-2008, 10:19 PM   #3
Head Chef

I'm a prolific baker and have used Gold Medal unbleached all purpose flour for many years - it's excellent.
Old 04-10-2008, 12:13 AM   #4
Head Chef

I like Gold Medal Bread flour for all of my bread formulas
Old 04-10-2008, 12:37 AM   #5
Sous Chef

Send a message via AIM to AMSeccia
We really do prefer King Arthur, and have tried a couple other like Hodgson's and Bob's (not sure if I got those names right, but they seem familiar), as well as Pillsbury and Gold Medal. Since we're just baking for family consumption, I'm in a place where I have to buy what's affordable, even if that means the store brand. I do notice a bit of difference on some things, but it's still good home cooking and all you can do is all you can do! I'm running out of things to cut back on ...
Old 04-10-2008, 12:51 AM   #6
Master Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMSeccia View Post