Need to switch flour due to cost

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

passioncook

Assistant Cook
Well, flour is ridiculous these days as most of us know. I always buy KA flour (both bread and AP) and today at the store it was $5.50 a bag. Sheesh! I do a lot of baking and go through a lot of flour and this just isn't feasible.

Are any of the other brands decent - like Gold Medal, Pillsbury, etc.? I was going to buy it direct from KA but that doesn't end up being any cheaper, in fact its a bit more expensive by the time you add in shipping.

They are all just fine and all cost just the same. I paid 5.50 for Pillsbury today. Thats just the way it's gonna be.

I'm a prolific baker and have used Gold Medal unbleached all purpose flour for many years - it's excellent.

We really do prefer King Arthur, and have tried a couple other like Hodgson's and Bob's (not sure if I got those names right, but they seem familiar), as well as Pillsbury and Gold Medal. Since we're just baking for family consumption, I'm in a place where I have to buy what's affordable, even if that means the store brand. I do notice a bit of difference on some things, but it's still good home cooking and all you can do is all you can do! I'm running out of things to cut back on ...

We really do prefer King Arthur, and have tried a couple other like Hodgson's and Bob's (not sure if I got those names right, but they seem familiar), as well as Pillsbury and Gold Medal. Since we're just baking for family consumption, I'm in a place where I have to buy what's affordable, even if that means the store brand. I do notice a bit of difference on some things, but it's still good home cooking and all you can do is all you can do! I'm running out of things to cut back on ...