Recreation of Vietnamese Banh Mi baguette - my tested recipe with stable successes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

EvillyChic

Assistant Cook
Hi everyone,

My name is Rose. I am new to the forum.

I would like to contribute a a Banh Mi recipe that I have been working with for quite some time already. It has shown stable success: Super airy loaves with crispy crust and moist little white crumb.

Here is the ingredient list for recipe:

160ml lukewarm water (around 35 degree Celsius)
6g fresh yeast
230g bread flour
20g finely grounded rye flour
20g sugar
4g salt
20g odorless oil such as sunflower or canola (or a mixture of 10g melted butter – 10g oil)
½ vitamin C tablet (100mg acid ascorbic per tablet)

Anyhow, I have had great results with this recipe for quite some times already, and I am a Vietnamese.
blank.gif
So, good luck with Banh Mi.

I am new to all this blogging and online communities, so constructive comments, recommendation and discussion are highly appreciated.
blank.gif
Thank you!

Rose,

Last edited by a moderator:
Rose, you're doing very well for a beginner! I predict you'll have a very successful future in blogging and online if you continue to put as much energy into it. :)

Your comments about adding ascorbic acid were interesting, I've never heard of that.

Also, I've never seen fresh yeast in the markets in US, although perhaps I just haven't been perceptive. I've always used the dried yeast that comes in packets.

Your bread looks and sounds delicious!

Instruction detail for my recipe

Hello,

Here in this post, I would describe how I make Bánh mì in my own way, which suitable for home bakers, who share the same dream of conquering this challenge to successfully recreate the mysterious Bánh mì baguette.

Below is how I make Bánh mì baguette. (6 loaves, 75g per loaf)
————————————————​
Utensils needed