Cast Iron - Interstitial

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

goodfood

Assistant Cook
I am a total fan of CI and Carbon Steel (De Buyer) and been reading various forums on CI rather intensively.

With regard to cleaning. various ingredients, and surfaces - I continuously see references fo 'pores.' Surface 'pores' certainly do exist - the question is 'what lies below?'

I am a chemical engineer - though not a metallurgist. Nevertheless, what I did learn - and 'scientific' reading on chemical molecular structure of metals - gives no basis to 'interstital' space that could be 'filled' with soaps, tomato sauce. vinegar - whatever.

All forum material has only been 'I know what I know' - which,to me, has only meant 'I think what I think.'

Is there anyone who has some 'solid' :LOL: info on this?

Since CI has been around a long time and some folks own well seasoned CI (100 years), I personally would never give any thought to what you're asking. I just know it is really good cookware that will last forever if correctly cared for, whether raw or enamel coated.

Well, sheee-yit. Imma gonna have to get me one of dem books witout pichers in 'em and learn me up a spell about cast i-run.

:rolleyes:

:LOL:

Are you talking about minute surface imperfections that may trap some foods and you want to clean them out on a molecular level?

Being a chem eng, you'd probably know more about the makeup of the seasoning/coating on cast iron that fills the surface imperfections than most people.

You can get into the hydrophobic and hydrophilic nature of soap and water as well.

"Are you talking about minute surface imperfections that may trap some foods and you want to clean them out on a molecular level?"

At this point, I'm trying to get comments on the material which is 'one level and more' (let's say) BELOW the surface.