Cat shedding, Normal?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

giggler

Sous Chef
I'm new to cat ownership, inhereted my Mom's old cat...

this is my second summer with him and It's very hot this summer in Texas...

"Boy" is still sheading very much. I brush him every night out on the back porch when it cools down...

The vet ( a really nice older fellow who took care of all my Beagles) pronounced him " a fine old cat" , and he seems healthy and happy..

but when he "cleans" himself ( a very interesting activity compared to the dogs I've owned)...sometimes he sort of Chews out big mouthfulls of hair..

this leaves a small bald spot for just maybe a day or so, then the new hair is quite fluffy...

Oh, also... do cats get baths?

I gave him a little bath outside when I first got him with a little baby shampoo because he smelled kinda funny... he sat there and I thought sort of liked it...

but my SO said " what are you doing? cats don't take baths!"

Thanks, Eric Austin Tx.

I have a long-hair cat. I also brush her every day. She sheds a lot when the weather warms up. Her coat becomes thicker in winter. She's an indoor-outdoor cat. She does not, however, chew out mouthfuls of hair and she has no bald spots.

Most cats are meticulous groomers and neither want nor need baths.

Hi Eric,
Yes you can bathe your kitty but I do suggest that you get cat shampoo as baby shampoo can dry the skin. As for the shedding it is probably normal, one of my kitties is a shedding machine. I use a shed ender comb and it seems to work. Pulling the hair out is another thing may just be a bad habit. If the skin doesn't look inflamed it probably isn't a problem. Good luck with "Boy" Kitties are wonderful pets.
C

they shed during summer months.