"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions

Old 04-21-2009, 05:43 PM   #1
Master Chef

Cooking, baking or both?

your preference:
-i'm a cook
-i can bake
-i'm great at both
-i'm a sommilier (kidding!) actually, elfie, you're our discusscooking sommilier! :)

i cannot bake. i've tried & tried. it just bores me. too meticulous. too scientific. i've thought of going through pastries classes, i'm just not into baking enough to drop another $40,000 or what pastries would cost, i'm uncertain.
i luv cooking. i adore it. that's why i dropped aforementioned $40,000, actually now, for me as a re-entering student, $60,000.
what is your strong point?

-luvs

Old 04-21-2009, 06:22 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
I like both and do well at both. I'm a very math-oriented person and enjoy calculating, measuring, etc., so baking comes naturally to me. I'm also a very precise person, which helps too. Either way, the end product is always fun.

Old 04-21-2009, 06:52 PM   #3
Master Chef

katie, i luv the end product, too!
Old 04-21-2009, 06:55 PM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire

me too katie, and once you have the basics down, you are free to change a recipe and make it your own. case in point i am going to make cream cheese blueberry muffins later. i will use splenda and maybe whole wheat flour. the flour will make them a bit more dense and certainly better for me. i don't remember my grandmother taking careful measuements when baking. she had the basics down and just did her thing. i love both cooking an baking. equally .
Old 04-21-2009, 07:13 PM   #5
Senior Cook

I have never been much on baking. I may make a total of 5 or 6 cakes/pies/cookies in a year, and if I bake bread, it's in a bread machine. Baking is just not my bag.