Cooking but not eating?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Claire

Master Chef
This is a curiousity. Anyone have a friend or acquaintance who loves to cook but hates to eat? I have one, and it makes me a little crazy some times. How can you love to cook, but hate to eat?

I know some folks have a phobea about gaining weight from cooking and sampling. I am the deadly combo of "likes to cook AND eat".

I love to eat and I love to cook, but I usually don't enjoy my own cooking. Consuming foods prepared by others are much more enjoyable.
But perhaps if I was a better cook I would feel differently about it.

Last edited:
When I am working, or entertaining, and make a large meal, I rarely eat it. It is fine making a family meal, but if I have been cooking all day, it just doesn't appeal to me. I know part of it is the tasting, but I think it is also just being around so much food it doesn't appeal to me. When I was at school and apprenticing I lost a ton of weight.

I am sure your friend would eat more if she wasn't cooking, but that is just from my own experience.

Laurie, I'm the same...especially holiday meals. The food tastes good, but by meal time I'm tired of the smell, the taste and everything. However, I LOVE the leftovers later. That is my favorite time. We usually have boocoos of family for Thanksgiving at the farm and I'm so busy that I don't think anyone even notices that I don't eat.

Whipping up a meal and eating is just fine, but yes, when I take all day cooking I have no appetite. Maybe I need a smaller sample spoon...

Oh, I'm not talking about the syndrome of by the time you get a big meal on the table, you aren't hungry ... you've tasted it to death, you know it is good, but you don't want it until a few hours after your guests leave or the next day.