Cooking Culture Shock

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Bilby, Rom, and our other international friends:
Since I work in the food industry, I like to know the foreign terms and slang for food items. By any chance, could you explain to me, what the "footy" is? Some kind of local market? I think I know what the "meat pie" is, something like a pasty.

The 'footy' would be a football game. In NZ at least, pies and chips are pretty standard fare (although as a kiwi, I'm more likely to say 'at the rugby' :))

You have a kiwi shop, Bilby? How cool. Can you let me know how to find it? I'll send my grandma directions (she misses some things, she'll be thrilled).

I have an english friend who always said she wasn't homesick for her country - but for english food! There's a snack called 'hula hoops' that are apparently popular over there, and you can't get them here - she really missed them.

Oh and when we went to NZ we noticed ALCOHOL in the supermarket!!!!!! thats a no no round here lol

Isn't that the same as we get in a meat pie at the footy???LOL:ROFLMAO:

u eat the meatpies? :LOL:

yep footy = Football game, and no it is not the round ball because for some reason Australia we call Rugby, footbal and Futball, Soccer LOL

i don' t eat meatpies...or watch the footy LOL but i guess u could say they go hand in hand....bilby...eats mystery meat LOL

Last edited:
Hey how come u have a kiwi shop and i don't..whats in a kiwi shop?
i want one! :D

When we went to India, I was going to make my meatballs that my bf loves and wanted his family to try. So i wanted parsley and parmesan.....they don't sell parsley and parmesan and didn't know what we were talking about. my meatballs were made out of goat meat and almost made me puke, me and my bf couldn't eat them..the goat was too strong lol we couldn't get the lamb at the butcher.