Cooking snobbery

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
:) I also have had people who did not want to cook for me because I'm a chef. Are you kidding me? I love when someone else cooks for me. When I first moved to the ranch the women there were worried their cooking might not be up to my standards they happen to be great cooks by the way. I just tell them that they even if they only made me scrambled eggs they would be the best eggs I ever had. Why? Plain and simple they taste better because I didn't have to cook them. There is something about not enjoying my own food all the time because I have already tasted and smelled the dish that by the time it comes to eat I'm already tired of it. When I cook at dinner home I rarely eat it when it's ready, after nibbling and tasting and smelling I get full feeling even if though I could eat more I just can't get into it any more.

One of Canada's "celebrity chef's" Michael Smith said one time that being a chef isn't about the schooling or the red seal, it is about a heart for food and people.

I don't really understand the 'snobbery' part at home. But bad knife skills drive me bonkers. A friend of mine was dicing an onion by first, slicing half moons, then seperating the rings, then cutting each dice individually. I actually had to sit on my hands so I wouldn't get involved.

I'm a total snob eating out. I can taste canned or prepared food a mile away. Hate it. I don't use them home, and I don't expect to pay good money to be served that junk going out to eat. We might eat out once in 2 months. What used to be good tastes like garbage now. The only time I'm not dissapointed is going to a certain local 'family style' restaurant. They have a bazillion things on the menu, but I always order the same thing: L.I. Iced Tea, Nachos Grande, Reuben, and a couple Heinekens or Becks.