"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2016, 10:55 AM   #1
Master Chef
 
CharlieD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA,Minnesota
Posts: 8,393
Do we have computer specialists here?

I got this new PC, and it just doesn't want to load up for me when I first turn the power on. I wonder if it is SKYPE that is messing me up. Spend an hour and a half yesterday with Dell support online. They've updated everything, cleaned up everything, checked everything and it was working. But this morning when I turned it on, same thing. Tried to start Internet and a page would not load up.

__________________

__________________
You are what you eat.
CharlieD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 02:40 PM   #2
Head Chef
 
Caslon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Inside the fridge
Posts: 1,703
At the command prompt, type the following command, and then press ENTER:
sfc /scannow

You probably have done that? That command will scan all Windows files and automatically replace or repair any that need it.

That's a good place to start.
__________________

__________________
Caslon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 04:12 PM   #3
Head Chef
 
Caslon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Inside the fridge
Posts: 1,703
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlieD View Post
I got this new PC, and it just doesn't want to load up for me when I first turn the power on. I wonder if it is SKYPE that is messing me up.
Uninstall SKYPE. If your PC now works correctly, get a previous version of SKYPE.
__________________
Caslon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 07:29 PM   #4
Head Chef
 
Zagut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Friendship,MD.
Posts: 1,229
I'm a computer specialist.

I specialize in not knowing a darned thing about them except clicking on buttons I shouldn't.

Sorry this is not helpful Mr. Charlie but I couldn't resist.

Hope you get things sorted out.
__________________
Zagut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 12:16 AM   #5
Master Chef
 
CharlieD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA,Minnesota
Posts: 8,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caslon View Post
Uninstall SKYPE. If your PC now works correctly, get a previous version of SKYPE.

I uninstalled Skype, took almost 40 minutes to even do that. It is much faster right now. I think I'll wait with Skype all together. I'll survive without I think.



Sent from my iPhone using Discuss Cooking
__________________
You are what you eat.
CharlieD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 12:37 AM   #6
Head Chef
 
Caslon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Inside the fridge
Posts: 1,703
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlieD View Post
It is much faster right now. I think I'll wait with Skype all together. I'll survive without I think.
Good to hear that. 40 minutes to uninstall Skype? Skype must really entangle itself into Windows.
__________________
Caslon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 04:27 PM   #7
Master Chef
 
CharlieD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA,Minnesota
Posts: 8,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caslon View Post
Good to hear that. 40 minutes to uninstall Skype? Skype must really entangle itself into Windows.
I bet it did. Problem is. i am still having problems. Takes two-three restarts and even then I have to start and shot down the Internet another 2-3 times. Something is definitely wrong.
__________________
You are what you eat.
CharlieD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 04:35 PM   #8
Wine Guy
 
Steve Kroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 5,408
Charlie, here's my advice: if it's a new computer, and it isn't working, then return it.
__________________
Steve Kroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 04:43 PM   #9
Head Chef
 
Caslon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Inside the fridge
Posts: 1,703
CharlieD, I'm starved of information. Skype has been uninstalled, but you're still having problems. I have the feeling that if you formatted C: (starting over), you'd still have issues. Isn't that pretty much what you did with your new Dell PC?

I'm not a guru at trouble shooting router problems. Do you connect to the net that way? Can you get Windows to act normal with no Internet connection? That's a good first step.
__________________
Caslon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 05:22 PM   #10
Assistant Cook
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Prince George
Posts: 4
Could you have downloaded something you shouldn't have? Malware running in the background? You can also check what's running by right clicking the bottom bar and choose Task Manager. If something is sucking up your CPU and/or memory google it to find out more about it. If all is good in there check your Services that are running. Start->Search->Services. Again, google before stopping/disabling any of them.
__________________

__________________
FrankNBeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.