Does anyone else find the Cook's Illustrated website to be annoying?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Steve Kroll

Wine Guy
My pet peeve of the day.

I have a paid subscription to Cook's Illustrated Magazine. I also own several of their cookbooks. On top of that, I pay another $25 or so per year to subscribe to their website content.

So why is it that every other time I try to use their site to pull up a recipe, I get a message that says: "Sorry. This page is for Editors' Choice Cookbook Collection Members Only". And there's a link to "upgrade" my membership.

WTF? It seems ridiculous for them to charge a premium above and beyond the ludicrous sum I'm already paying. I feel like Chrisopher Kimball has his bony little hand in my back pocket (and that's a scary thought). :furious:

Sorry, but I had to vent.

I hear you and I agree.

I used to frequent their site and forum. I left because there is an attitude about them I did not and do not care for. It rears it's ugly head on their TV shows too but it's less annoying. It's also evidenced in their pricing schemes as you have noticed.

I subscribed to Cooks Country because one of the issues had a recipe for Barberton (my home town in OH) Fried Chicken. Fond memories, etc. Then, somehow, I got an unasked-for cookbook in the mail, which I did keep and pay for but sent them a note in no uncertain terms that they were not to send me anything else without a request. I doubt that I will renew. Too pricey.

When I get one of their enticing e-mails soliciting a subscription, all the good stuff is inaccessible and just serves to annoy me.

I used to be a fan of cooks illustrated, but now it just seems like a big money grab.