Famous Family

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I think we have a lot of infamous ones too. When you shake my family tree, only nuts fall out.
Seriously, by adoption I am related to Edgar Allan Poe. Since I enjoy writing I'm really proud of that; he's one of my favorites.

:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:Too funny--my family's nuts fall alongside yours, shortchef--only some of them "MARRY" the squirrels that come foraging!! As far as writing and books I have 2 "out-laws" that brag about the fact that they never visited the library while in college----yeah, isn't that something to be proud of?:rolleyes:

wow Geebs, that is quite a developing story you have. Whod a thunk you may have a Globetrotter in your ancestry?:LOL:

I have been researching my family for several years and have uncovered quite a bit, just on the internet. I am descended from 8 families who sailed with William Penn's fleet of ships in 1682, they are on both my mom's and dad's side of the family. I am NOT descended from any family on the Mayflower. I am a proud member of The Daughters of the American Revolution; my 4 greats grandfather Ichabod Wilkinson served in that war. I have 4 ancestors who served in the American Revolution, but you have to be able to prove your ancestry, generation by generation, in order to apply for membership.

Probably the most astonishing fact I learned from the internet is that another 4 greats grandfather, in 1832, built a house in Logan County Ohio, with secret compartments, expressly to house slaves escaping on the Underground Railroad. That story was not passed down through the family. It took me a while to confirm that this was my direct ancestor, but it was.