"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions

Old 10-03-2005, 10:22 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Growing indoor food help

Hello,

I would like to grow some plants indoor for cooking.

The products from the local market are lousy. They are chemical-sprayed, scarred/rashed, contain pale patches, mushy, and expensive!

Not to mention the numberous hands that have touched it before I put it in the shopping bag!

I plan to grow something in my room. Yes, it has to be my room since its not my house. I rent, so this is the only place I can keep my stuff.

So, I plan to grow something indoors. Like tomatoes. Here is where I need some help: I am a newbie. :( Hopefully, some of you friendly fellows will help me out.

1. If I introduce a plant(s) into my room, would that invite critters? I don't want to things crawling up my bed!

2. Umm... Just water, light and fertiliser is all I need to nourish it?

3. Can I grow with fluorescent light? At night, I would leave the lights on for the plant(s).

The thing is, I work night shifts. So in the day time, I sleep with the blinds down.

Old 10-03-2005, 06:43 PM   #2
Senior Cook