"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2007, 09:34 PM   #11
Chef Extraordinaire
 
kitchenelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 19,725
Send a message via MSN to kitchenelf
Mine has at least 20 channels too. I'm still trying to figure out how to watch a show "on demand" - I see the movies offered but I still haven't figured out how to watch just a regular program
__________________

__________________
kitchenelf

"Count yourself...you ain't so many" - quote from Buck's Daddy
kitchenelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 09:38 PM   #12
Head Chef
 
keltin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Down South in Alabama
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via AIM to keltin
If you’re torn about HD and Blu-ray for your next player, well that is tough. Blu-ray is slowly getting more support from movie houses, but HD has proven to be better at utilizing the HDMI interface. HD discs often offer superior audio and enhanced features that Blu-ray has YET to take advantage of. If possible, get a dual player (plays both HD and Blu-ray). If not…..well…..I’m betting on Blu-Ray for industry support in the long run even though HD has technically taken the jump at this time.
__________________

__________________
keltin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 09:42 PM   #13
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by keltin View Post
20???? Sweet. Who are you with?
Charter Communications. Here are the HD channels they offer.

A&E
History Channel
MOJO
Fox Sports Net New England
ESPN2
ESPN
New England Sports Network
Discovery HD Theater
HBO
Showtime
Cinemax
WGBH-DT - PBS
WBZ-DT - CBS
WCVB-DT - ABC
WFXT-DT - FOX
WHDH-DT - NBC
Starz
Universal HD
TNT
MHD

Katie I have been good, but not THAT good

I am betting ob Blu too keltin, but I am going to wait until there is a clear winner most likely.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 09:24 AM   #14
Head Chef
 
LT72884's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UTAH, BABY
Posts: 1,421
they say they are in hd but is that really true. i do not have cable tv or any type of tv. HD to me seems like it would have to take alot of bandwidth to send the data. is charter sending it in 480P, 720P 1080i or 1080P.

Component cables can handle up to 1080P. I still prefer DVI. then i dont have to deal with HDCP. HDCP is just another way to become slaves under the DRM, but i can see there POV for HDCP.
__________________
*A substitute for human interaction* - I really need to find a girl whos name doesnt end with .JPG
http://grillofmydreams.bluedisk.org
LT72884 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 09:40 AM   #15
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,630
GB, HDMI carries audio as well as video. There's no reason to have both set of cables connected. The TV will feed off either one, not both at the same time. My set has a different video channel for each connection (Vid 1-7) which is labeled on the back next to the respective connection. i.e. Vid 1 - HDMI, Vid 2 - component.

Using solely the HDMI will also give you digital sound. Get a DVD player with upconversion for 1080i. Mine was like $80.


No TBS HD?
__________________
Jeekinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 09:51 AM   #16
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by LT72884 View Post
is charter sending it in 480P, 720P 1080i or 1080P.

.
I have seen things sent in both 720p and 1080i depending on the program.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 09:51 AM   #17
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeekinz View Post

Using solely the HDMI will also give you digital sound.
So if I have both component and HDMI plugged in, am I not getting digital sound?
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 10:02 AM   #18
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,630
Component only carries video. Red Green Blue.
__________________
Jeekinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 10:19 AM   #19
Head Chef
 
keltin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Down South in Alabama
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via AIM to keltin
Quote:
Originally Posted by GB View Post
So if I have both component and HDMI plugged in, am I not getting digital sound?
The TV basically has a big “A/B” switch inside......remember those? You select the port you want to use for the signal, and that port is the one that is activated. In selecting one port, the others are disabled. So, you can have composite, component, coax, S-video, and HDMI all hooked up at one time, but only one of them can be active at a time. Having them all hooked up doesn’t interfere or load the others, but only one can be used at a time.

If you use component, then you also have to import sound separately. HDMI on the other hand carries audio as well, but obviously, it is carrying the audio to your TV. This means if you have a separate audio receiver, you have to figure out how to get the audio to the receiver. Most TVs offer an output port for this.
__________________
keltin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 10:24 AM   #20
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by keltin View Post
If you use component, then you also have to import sound separately. HDMI on the other hand carries audio as well, but obviously, it is carrying the audio to your TV. This means if you have a separate audio receiver, you have to figure out how to get the audio to the receiver. Most TVs offer an output port for this.

I just keep the volume all the way down on the TV and run seperate Line Outs from whatever component to the receiver.
__________________

__________________
Jeekinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.