"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions

Old 08-12-2008, 11:15 AM   #1
Head Chef

How to write a resume`

I dont have a resume` because my ex brother in law hired me right after i quit my other job. I have really no idea how to write/build a resume`.

I have some really BIG decessions to make in the next 6 months for work. One of them is; Do i get a new job before i get my certification from CISCO or do i wait till i have a cert behind me before i switch jobs.

That one is the biggest on my plate right now. So i need to write a resume` and i could use DC's help.

Thanx

Old 08-12-2008, 11:41 AM   #2
Senior Cook

Boy, your thread came at the perfect time for me! I'm wondering the same thing.

In my case, I was a credit manager for 30 years, and that's what my resume' reflects. I don't even know if tinkers have ever constructed a resume' to dsiplay their talents.

About five years ago, I met most of my restaurant clients setting up to sharpen in a local sporting goods store. I would meet them virtually by accident or word of mouth. However, that sporting goods store closed.

But there's a strange dichotomy. I made very little money sharpening hunting and pocket knives. But the exposure to chefs and sous-chefs paid the bills.

Now that I've decided to work exclusively on chefs' knives (and those of long term clients) I was wondering if a "pre-approach" letter should be sent out to the best restaurants in Madison--at least until buzz is established.

However, I still have no resume' to include!

When you find an idea that works, post your ideas here. I'll bet lots of us are in the same boat. They say baby-boomers have at least six careers in their lives. I agree.

Old 08-12-2008, 11:48 AM   #3
Certified Pretend Chef

LT:

I'd check out resume prep. sites for resume assistance. The resume is an important part of the introduction to a prospective employer and can make or break you.

Chico: