I need some personal advice please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Angie

Head Chef
As most of you know, I'm treatment for prescription drug abuse/addict. I didn't go today since I was waiting to hear on a job (which I got!). I ran some errands and came home to a message form someone in my treatment. He was concerned and wanted to know if I was OK.

I called him back and just got off the phone with him.

He is an alcoholic.

He was drunk just now. He didn't admit to it, but he was severly slurring his words.

My dilemna: Do I report this? He is a friend and I don't want to make him mad, but he needs to be sober!

I'm already waiting on a call back from my counselor. I'm not sure if I should tell her about this.

Any thoughts?

im no pro...but why dont you ask him if he is drunk? i wouldnt report him with out at the very LEAST doing that!

Definitelly. You should. Even though it is AA, somebody needs to help this person. Better yet ask your counselor she will be more qualified to answer your question. Just do not use the name of the person before getting an answer. Ask a hypothetical question first. Oh, yeah, and be prepare for that person to be upset with you.

I am thinking about calling him back to ask him. I went to one AA meeting with him (four are required for this rehab program) and the night before that he drank as well. The next time we had treatment, he came clean to everyone. Now he's drinking again.

I would say no - I would be there for support and a sounding board. He needs a friend he can count on. He is the only one that can change things- and be determined to want a better life for himself.

Angie, ask him the tough question and if the answer is yes, encourage him to be the one to 'fess up.