"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions
Click Here to Login

Old 02-20-2017, 04:08 AM   #1
Executive Chef

Insomniac's Thread...

I am a freelance photographer with a rather narrow specialty. So, I may work 25 days or more one month, and 5 days the next. On the 20-plus day months, I am rarely working in Dallas, so I spend a lot of time on planes, in airports and sleeping in hotels. On the 5-day months, my body clock takes time to get with the program.

This creates some sleep issues. Well, that and I'm an old fart.

My posts here are often a reflection of that. It is 3:03 AM as I am posting this. On the road, I have my laptop, and when I can't sleep, I surf.

So, any other insomniacs here? Just curious. I can't imagine I am the only one, but it wouldn't be the first time I was wrong.

CD

Old 02-20-2017, 04:34 AM   #2
Ogress Supreme

Site Administrator

I usually hang out here at night. I work 12 hour shifts as an RN in the nursing home. Love my job. But right around now I'm done with my work and everyone is asleep.

Old 02-20-2017, 04:46 AM   #3
Executive Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrincessFiona60 View Post
I usually hang out here at night. I work 12 hour shifts as an RN in the nursing home. Love my job. But right around now I'm done with my work and everyone is asleep.
My sister is a hospital RN. She's been an RN for about 35 years. To patients, she is more involved than the doctors. I can't tell enough people how proud of her I am. I have very high regards for RNs. It is a very admirable profession.

CD
Old 02-20-2017, 04:51 AM   #4
Ogress Supreme

Site Administrator

Thank you! I've been an RN for 19 years. Fully dedicated to my old folks. Hospitals are too fast for me, I don't get to know the patients before they are sent home. Here, we are a family and I know my patients very well.
Old 02-20-2017, 06:01 AM   #5
Executive Chef

Quote: