"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions
Closed Thread

Old 09-21-2012, 07:02 PM   #1
Executive Chef

iphone 5 is out today

just curious--how many of us (you) are buying the new iphone? who already has an iphone or ipad? what features or aspects of it do you like the best? how is it superior to other smart phones?

Old 09-21-2012, 07:09 PM   #2
Master Chef

No iphone for me.

I carry a $15.00 burner.

Old 09-21-2012, 07:24 PM   #3
Sous Chef

The while family is so getting it in 2 months when out contract is up. But I'm an attorney and we have a family business and constantly need to be connected: text, Email, Dropbox, calendar, Internet, efax, spreadsheets, we all use while running around Miami. So it's indispensable. Also totally fun to play games, read, DC forum, I look up recipes on way to supermarket to buy food as no time to plan.

I'm looking foward to the do not disturb So you can "turn off the phone" while still fielding calls/texts from some people (ie shut off work but keep wife and kids)

Also looking foward to camera. Evidently better then alot of digital cameras. So I've been taking plenty pics of my baby (who carries cameras around??) and Bigge screen as we use it for work alot.

Also supposed to be fast as hell. Can't wait
Old 09-21-2012, 07:28 PM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire

Send a message via Skype™ to taxlady
I have an iPhone 3. A friend gave it to me when she got an Android phone. I'm pretty sure my next phone will run Android.
Old 09-21-2012, 07:30 PM   #5
Executive Chef

Site Moderator

They are no doubt nice phones, but I don't get the hype.

You could have bought a better phone with LTE over a year ago (heck almost 2 years ago), larger screen, and with google maps navigation, the best map system out there.