"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions

Old 08-29-2016, 02:42 PM   #3771
Chef Extraordinaire

I recently finished "The Bees," by Laline Paull, a really interesting novel about life in a beehive. It's especially fascinating to me since we started two beehives this year. It describes the life cycle of the bees and how the hive functions, along with the (probably ) fictional description of their religious life and icons. The Queen Mother indeed rules the hive.

And as a graphic designer, I love the cover design, with the hexagonal cut-outs resembling the comb.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1472496168651.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	45.7 KB
ID:	25268  

Old 08-30-2016, 08:58 AM   #3772
Master Chef

I just got done reading the final Inspector Morse novel by Colin Dexter. The title is THE REMORSEFUL DAY. Wow, what an ending. Lots of twists and turns.

Old 09-03-2016, 12:06 AM   #3773
Master Chef

I picked up a book at the library yesterday (Thursday), then sat up late reading. Tonight I'll be starting "Throw like a Woman" on page 98. Written by Susan Petrone, one of the co-founders of a Cleveland Indians blog called "It's Pronounced Lajaway", I've enjoyed the articles I've read there and on her personal blog. So far, this book has not disappointed. I hope I have the good sense to go to bed earlier tonight, though.
Old 09-03-2016, 12:28 AM   #3774
Master Chef

I'm starting the third book in the series of five to be delivered the end of Sept. for Davenport House.

Kayelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 01:09 PM   #3775
Chef Extraordinaire