"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions

Old 01-26-2010, 10:09 PM   #1
Mr. Greenjeans

Major Milestone

I'm pretty proud of this. Normally I am pretty low key when it comes to pounds lost and stuff like that but this is nice after so long.

A little background. I'm a big boy. Some would say scary huge. I was in an adult body long before my brain ever caught up (some would say it hasn't yet!) I broke 6 foot at the age of 12 and I was every bit as large as a man. No tall slender basketball player here, I was all football size. I've never been thin but all through my teens I was just a little pudgy. Not fat, just soft. I went through a series of blue collar jobs in my late teens and I turned into a block of muscle. My appetite was huge and I burned it all off at work everyday. Then I graduated from college and suddenly I started to get fat. Desk job, duh. I had to get things under control or I was gonna get huge. I worked out and started watching my intake and things leveled off and were cool.

Cut to a few years ago. I started to get a bit pudgy again. Well I was approaching forty, people get fat at forty! My oldest girl wanted to do something with daddy. We signed up for Taekwondo. Perfect! Work out, lose weight, get rid of the pudge, be able to kill with a finger... We went to class 3 times a week and I gotta tell you, there were times that I had black dots in my vision telling me that I was close to passing out! They worked my A$$ off!! I fulfilled the requirements of the class, I was gaining muscle again, however I was actually gaining weight. I went on a strict diet and followed it. I worked out in addition to the Taekwondo. I was still gaining weight!!!