Need help cleaning my ceramic cooktop

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lyndalou

Head Chef
This morning I was making applesauce and got distracted. It boiled over onto my top and cooked right on. Any ideas how I can get that mess off ?

I've heard others say they use a rezor blade to scrape off the dried stuff. Does your owner's manual tell you what to do?

Lynda, I have a glass cooktop and use a razor blade.I have a holder that you put the blade into and it gives you a better safer grip. I put on a white stoptop cleaner then just push forward on the holder and it takes off all the mess.

kadesma

Lyndalou, I'm no expert, but can you put a really wet rag down on it for a bit to let it absorb some of the liquid and then gently scrub it off?

If you are hesitant to use a razor blade on your cooktop, you might want to use a plastic putty knife. I keep two of those (a 1-inch and a 3-inch) by my sink to gently scrape bits out of my nonstick pans. Just an idea.

expert here!

1) damp paper towel to wipe up what you can.
2) razor blade to scrape off the rest (yes get a painter's razorblade scraper holder at the hardware store and a box of 1 sided razor blades...change em every month.)
3) get a bottle of glass top range cleaner (it's a silcon product) with a damp paper towel apply the cleaner and polish the top.
4) dry and buff with a dry paper towel

It will be good as new. Using paper towels prevents putting grease from a sponge or dish rag onto the stove top. The cleaner is also a glass polish wich helps make spill overs easier to remove in the future. CLean the stove top regularly with this method. It will look great for years to come.

after cooking, i spray mine with orange cleaner. then clean. tongs, a damp cloth.....
buff later if that's important. mine's shiny & probably ancient & shines yet.

Last edited: