Patience for baking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chef Maloney

Senior Cook
I love to cook but I don't do much baking.
An occasional cake, pie, I don't mind making breads so much.
Baking takes a patience that I sometimes find hard to muster-up.
It can be frustrating for me.
I can truly appreciate someone with the kn0w-h0w and patience for baking.
:LOL:

There are many like us CM. I seldom bake anything but the simplest recipe because I'm so bad at it. I also lack the patience it takes, not to mention I'm not good at being precise with ingredients, oven temps, and/or technique. I suppose I could become a decent baker if I really wanted to do that, but the motivation just isn't there.

I love to cook, but not bake.:chef:

Don't feel bad. I'm crazy about cooking but can't stand baking lol! When I'm done baking my whole kitchen is covered in flour and batter, the mess drives me mad.
I can bake though but I prefer doing it in someone elses kitchen and if possible in a bathing suite so I don't get my clothes covered in gunk :p

I like to bake sometimes...I enjoy it somewhat, but sometimes can get frustrated...overall I do like baking the odd tart :)

Me and flour and... gravy... or dredging something... :)
Me and flour and baking... :angry:
The stuff just takes on a different form and gets everywhere. I have no patience for making a mess that doesn't easily wipe up :wacko:
That's what Betty Crocker is for :LOL:

Baking is something I don't mind doing--the problem is, I don't like sweets, so need to have others available to eat what I bake. I'm actually pretty good at baking...at the farm, the oven controller was funky for awhile--watching the temp and trying to adjust it so things didn't burn on the bottom was more challenging than mixing the ingredients! I'm not great at decorating, but am working on that.