"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions

Old 12-30-2014, 08:39 AM   #3761
Executive Chef

Charlie, I am not a lawyer, but my advice is to quit speeding. I know that's not what you wanted to hear.

Joann, I am glad to hear that you and your family escaped that horrible situation. Just recently there was an accident near here where a guy made a left turn in front of a police car who had his lights and siren on. I don't know why he wasn't aware of the police car. Both the policeman and the other driver were killed. I don't know what the answer is. I realize they have to catch the bad guys, but at what cost?

Old 12-30-2014, 11:56 AM   #3762
Master Chef

Re: central heating and cooling. Trying to convince my wife that simply turning up the thermostat is not going to pump "warmer" air. We have this same argument during the summer also.....the lower the thermostat setting does not equal "cooler" air coming out of the vents. We keep going in circles and argue about this every time outdoor temps hit way below or above average.

Old 12-30-2014, 12:10 PM   #3763
Certified Pretend Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadfix View Post
Re: central heating and cooling. Trying to convince my wife that simply turning up the thermostat is not going to pump "warmer" air. We have this same argument during the summer also.....the lower the thermostat setting does not equal "cooler" air coming out of the vents. We keep going in circles and argue about this every time outdoor temps hit way below or above average.
Mmmm, maybe.

The air coming out of the vents (warm air in the winter and cool air in the summer) is at fairly constant temperatures. However, it will actually be warmer/cooler than the air already in the rooms, resulting in warming or cooling the rooms.
Old 12-30-2014, 12:34 PM   #3764
Master Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
Mmmm, maybe.