Random Act of Kindness - start the wave DC!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I helped a lady with a cane take care of her shopping cart at the grocery store.

I helped a lady with a walker carry her groceries to her car...she wanted to tip me! I told her that my mom uses a walker and I would hope that someone would help her carry things.

This isn't a recent act of kindness, but it is something I was able to do years ago. I worked as a Tour Manager. We had "an empty room" that the tour company was paying for at each hotel (the people canceled). We checked into a hotel in St Pete's (it was raining--that I remember). A woman came in, she was weeping--not crying, but weeping as one does when one has suffered a grave loss. Her father had just passed away. She and her son (who was about 9-10) looked like h#ll and needed a place for the night. The hotel was sold out. "Sorry m'am, no vacancies." After she begged for a room through her tears. I was standing there (I think I'd brought the airline tickets down to put in the safe deposit box). I turned to the clerk and said, "I have a room, give her the key." To this day, I like to think that that woman, and her son perhaps, when they remember that night, remember a stranger who said "I have a room, give her the key." They got the key, they got the room. All she said to me was "thank you." Other than that, we did not exchange a single word. The clerk just shrugged and he never said anything to me either. The hotel was going to let that room (the room the company was carrying) be empty and turn that woman and her son away. The tour company paid for it (or rather, the folks who canceled did). Empty or slept in, the room was paid for. But that act of kindness, I hope, was paid forward in some way later in those two people's lives. And, the fact that I was there when she walked in, that was fate.