Salads

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

In the Kitchen

Executive Chef
Could any of you eat a salad everyday for lunch? I have been making salads for lunch more than 10 years, not much else goes along just greens, tomatoes, red peppers, baby cucumbers, dressing, chinese noodles, that is most of the time. I am so burned out on fixing everyday except weekend that I can't bring myself to even eat one myself. Don't you think someone would get tired of this everyday? Only thing I make sure I have to go to store every weekend to get the greens. I am just curious how they can have same thing for so long! Kind of boring to me, but they claim they don't want heavy lunch. How do you feel about eating same thing everyday. Yogurt even gets old to me. Am I spoiled? Thanks for your input. This has been bothering me for some time and like always afraid someone will think my family strange

Nope I couldn't, I can get tired of a favorite food if eat too often. We have a tossed salad almost every night- love em', but times I want coleslaw.

I get tired of the same thing all the time too. DH however doesn't pay attention to what he eats. He'll eat just about anything put in front of him. One time he tried the Rice Diet where you only eat plain rice and fruit. It could be any kind of fruit but he stuck with bananas. I don't know how he did it. :wacko: Salads however can be changed up easily with different add-ins and different dressing to keep it fresh and interesting.

My dad took a bologna sandwich in his bucket to work every day for years! He was a coal miner, who worked on top in the plant, and he said there was so much coal dust that he couldn't taste his food anyway.

I can't do that, though. I have to have some variation.