Shocking Supermarket Secrets!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I was aware of most of that except the water spray ... that's just awful.

Thanks for posting this great information.

When I worked in a store with the automatic sprayers, that is something that they always got hit with during a health inspection. My current store still uses the old style hoses, and the water is FRESH.

Open cases shouldn't be a problem if load levels are observed. You'll often notice on the sides of the cases, there will be a mark for load levels, if items are piled too high or shelves that are installed are too deep protruding out past the load marks. Our store management as well as our health inspector are armed with laser temp guns to keep an eye on this stuff.

Thanks. I usually go to the back of the dairy case so I can grab the carton w/ the longest best buy date. Now I always will!

I'm amazed that everybody doesn't do this! I'm always worried that other shoppers or employees will call me out but it hasn't happened yet.

Just today I went through the salads at Fresh 'n Easy (crappy market) and found 3-4 sell-by dates, so I picked my Romaine with the latest date.

Same thing at Trader Joe's with their refrigerated nuke 'n puke dinners (microwave dinners). I always go to the back of the case and pick the latest sell-by.

And milk??? I'll look at every carton in the case to find the freshest one! ;)

Greg Who Cooks said:
I'm amazed that everybody doesn't do this! I'm always worried that other shoppers or employees will call me out but it hasn't happened yet.

Just today I went through the salads at Fresh 'n Easy (crappy market) and found 3-4 sell-by dates, so I picked my Romaine with the latest date.

Same thing at Trader Joe's with their refrigerated nuke 'n puke dinners (microwave dinners). I always go to the back of the case and pick the latest sell-by.