Spring cleaning in the fall! Advice needed!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

getoutamykitchen

Master Chef
Anyone have a walk in closet they can't walk into? I do and I'm so tired of it. I've been trying to clean out the closet and throw things away. A yard sale is out of the question. I live to far out in the sticks for a yard sale to pay off. My last one netted $3.00. That didn't even cover the cost of the poster board to advertise it.
Anyway the advice I need is, what do I do with my wedding dress. I've been saving it for over 14 years. My reason to save it was to hand it down to my child, but my son has already informed me he's not wearing it.
I paid to have it preserved right after my wedding. How do I sell it without breaking the seal. Once opened it's vulnerable to all the elements like moisture, mothes, etc... I have plenty of pictures of me in it, but I'm not to keen on using a picture of me to advertise it. Anybody have any suggestions?

You could sell it on ebay...just use a picture of your own wedding. It's the only way to show what the dress looks like

Or you could donate it.

I would advertise the wedding gown on Craig's List, along with any other items you REALLY think may have real value to someone else.

I would separate everything into piles called "Donateable" and "Toss." Then pile the "Donateable" items into your car and take them to the nearest Salvation Army or Good Will or something like that. They will give you a receipt you can use to take a tax deduction for the donation. Then bundle the remainder in those large "builders bags" you can get at Home Depot and put them out for the trash pickup.

that's my advice. you will feel SO much better when it's done.:)

and if you need inspiration, tune into the show Clean House on the Style Network. That should give you real incentive! :ohmy: