Started my COMPOST pile today!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sattie

Washing Up
Hey guys... today I finally started my compost pile. I have been thinking about this for a while now and finally did something about it. I try to do 'green' in my life and knew all the wasted fuel I threw out in my trash daily was not being put to good use. So I made my compost pile using some chicken wire and a heavy duty trash bag with the bottom cut out. I have leaves and some random foilage in the mix and have set aside a repository for produce leftovers so I can cart it all from the house to the compost.

Since this is my first time trying this, I would really love to hear any tips you folks have about this. I really interested in what all I can dispose of into the compost and how often.

Thanks DC'ers!

oh you will be so glad and your garden, too, that you've started one---we did add some mulch to ours in the beginning to get it started but after that we only had to add grass clippings, vegetable peels, etc.............note of warning.......because the pile will generate some heat some critters may want to move in which was fine with me but just be aware.....once I found a nest of bunnies and just took the mulch from around them....they didn't seem to mind but the mind blowing experience was when I was heaving mulch out one day (ours was kept in a chicken wired cage by the garden) and I unearthed a wriggling not too friendly-looking snake--now I know why God gave us adrenaline.....I actually jumped straight out of the 4ft. enclosure--straight up and over in one leap....hubby did the rest of the mulching after that---happy mulching--you'll be glad that you did

Great to hear, sattie. I'm entering my second year with composting. I don't have a "pile" per se. Instead I'm using a castoff wheeled commercial trash can.