Things people say that bug you

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jabbur

Master Chef
Since I started my interpreting classes, I've been more attuned to what people say. One of the things that bugs me a lot is on the Today show. The host will say "coming up next (insert topic) but first this is Today on NBC." then go to commercial. This really makes no sense! They are not going to their own show. The way it is stated doesn't indicate a commercial is coming. I know it's not really a big thing and I didn't notice it before I started studying language use but now it gives me the shivers each time I hear it and want to go to the studio and shake the person who mindlessly says it. Just my little rant for the day. Thanks for listening.

Yes, I noticed that about 12 or so years ago. I don't hear it anymore - you've only got 11.99 years to go before it doesn't bother you anymore :LOL:

I feel your pain. I was an English minor in college.

Lots of people use the word "orientated" when they mean 'oriented.' I'm getting better with dangling participles, but they still grate upon the ear I was given.

I do not like the term 24/7, it just bugs me for some reason.

That one doesn't bother me so much. I think it has become part of the lexicon. Just about everyone knows the meaning, and the implication.

There are shorthand phrases for just about any topic or hobby. I use the phrase "twice and twain" in my business. It saves a full paragraph of typing to others who know the details.

I can't stand people who use the word "obviously" incorrectly. Something may be obvious to them, but that does not mean it is obvious to everyone else.