Tooting My Own Horn

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kaneohegirlinaz

Wannabe TV Chef
Central/Northern AZ, gateway to The Grand Canyon
I’m not a vain or egotistical person; I don’t look for pats on the back.
But just about now, I am proud of myself.

the boathouse.jpeg

I have a dear friend who is a chef/owner/operator of her own restaurant in Colorado.
At the beginning of the “season” she was preparing her menu and asked for my advice.
ME! A non-professional chef, I’m a home cook. I was so humbled.
She wanted to bring something from “the Islands” to the table this year, but wasn’t sure how to execute it.
I suggested an Ahi Poke Tower, huge hit just about everywhere.
Here’s the thing though, she had never made Poke before.

poke tower.jpg

This is what we collaborated on.

Mixed the tuna with shoyu, sesame chili oil, scallions and white sesame seeds. Avacado is just pulp. Sprouts are radish sprouts and green stuff on plate is wasabi sauce. Rice cracker garnish and pickled ginger(behind tower). Put it in a pvc coupling...takes about 2 minutes to plate. $13 bucks a pop, badda bing!

YUM!
She said that she sells this appetizer out every night!
I have not yet been able to make it up there to try her creation.

That is fabulous! Congratulations!
Ok, I have one, not nearly as good as yours but here it is.