"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions

Old 11-22-2015, 02:45 PM   #4401
Certified Pretend Chef

Venting

Quote:
Originally Posted by taxlady View Post
Wait a minute Andy, you guys only have one working computer in the house?

Okay, I know that my home isn't normal (we have at least five working computers), but still...

One laptop (currently NOT working), one iPad and 2 iPhones. It's probably more than we can afford.

Old 11-22-2015, 03:26 PM   #4402
Chef Extraordinaire

Any magnetic media, including external hard drives and flash drives, can fail at any time. I've heard too many stories over the years from people who suffered a computer hard drive failure only to find out that their backup media was corrupted or otherwise unavailable. So I've been using the online service Backblaze for the last several years to back up to the cloud.

Read more about it, and other options, here: http://lifehacker.com/five-best-onli...ces-1006345049

Old 11-22-2015, 03:53 PM   #4403
Chef Extraordinaire

Quote:
Wait a minute Andy, you guys only have one working computer in the house?

Okay, I know that my home isn't normal (we have at least five working computers), but still...

Sounds like Spike. He found a brand new colored laser printer in the trash behind the store that his boss owns and he set it up and it is working just fine. He also has about three or more computers that other folks didn't want. He fixes them up and when someone's 'puter goes out, he has one they can borrow.
Old 11-22-2015, 04:29 PM   #4404
Chef Extraordinaire

Send a message via Skype™ to taxlady
Quote:
Is there a way to boot your laptop from an external hard drive or CD/DVD? Is it possible to set that up for another time? I'm not familiar with Mac OS. I know you would be able to do it with Linux.