"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2014, 08:49 PM   #18361
Ogress Supreme
 
PrincessFiona60's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 36,305
It wasn't in the same spot it usually is.
__________________

__________________
PrincessFiona60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 02:41 AM   #18362
Master Chef
 
Cheryl J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: California
Posts: 6,326
Had a busy day today, and now I'm going to kick back in the recliner and watch a movie until I fall asleep - which won't be long. Kitty is already there and waiting for me.
__________________

__________________
Grandchildren fill the space in your heart you never knew was empty.
Cheryl J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 03:39 AM   #18363
Master Chef
 
Cooking Goddess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Body in MA ~ Heart in OH
Posts: 8,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocket_J_Dawg View Post
Re-cleaning out the car as we got the Sentra today. Pick it up on Wednesday.
New cars=fun! Even though we buy used, it's still new to us so I get just as excited. Many happy and safe miles ahead. AND be sure to post a picture?
__________________
... nothing is given. Everything is earned. You work for what you have... ~~~ LeBron James
Cooking Goddess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 09:15 AM   #18364
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 3,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawgluver View Post
I went to start the car and run some errands. It wouldn't start. No noise, no clicks, nothing. While I could've gotten it jumped, I figured that's why I have AAA. Called, and got a jump within a half hour. I knew there was a reason I pay these guys! Now I need to figure out how to reprogram the Sirius radio, it's been years since I last did that. :sigh:

Anndd, I went to start the car again, a bit of buzzing, then nothing. Another call to AAA. This time I think I'll head to the mechanic....

The only time that happened to me when the guy jumped the battery he told me not to shut off the car. I drove directly to Sears (where I had a charge card) and bought a new battery.
__________________
CarolPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 09:19 AM   #18365
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 3,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacanis View Post
They always bring me a box for my stuff. But I usually do things the same day.
I've got a couple boxes "in storage" that were from past vehicles. I transfer what I think I'll need to the new one. [insert crazy spinning eyes emoticon here. it has disappeared.]

One time we were on the way home from the mall and stopped at a dealership and left with a new car. Surprise! When we got home we realized the garage door opener was still in the old car. Oops! We called and they took it into the office.
'
My DIL left her GPS in the old car. Didn't realize it until the next time she needed it. Called the dealership but it was gone. Can't tell me someone didn't find it when they detailed the car.
__________________
CarolPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 11:40 AM   #18366
Master Chef
 
Aunt Bea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: near Mount Pilot
Posts: 7,006
Today I went to use my landline phone and it did not work, no dial tone.

I'm not sure how long it has been broken, I have not used it in over a month.

I called the telephone company on my fifteen dollar tracfone, that always seems to work, and the telephone companies computer told me that my line has a problem. The computer told me if I would like the telephone company to fix it I will have to pay a fee for them to come out to look at it and possibly an additional fee to actually make the repairs.

Today may be the end of my landline phone!

I'm not sure if I should dump the landline and just live with the tracfone for the dozen or so calls I make each year or if I should dump them both and get a real cellular phone.

Before I decide to unhook the old landline does anyone know if I can get a cellular plan that will allow me to keep my old landline number.

Thanks B
__________________
Aunt Bea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 12:25 PM   #18367
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
I know people who have a landline # associated with their cell phones.
__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 12:47 PM   #18368
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 3,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacanis View Post
I know people who have a landline # associated with their cell phones.

Do you mean that their landline and cell phone have the same number?

My landline is from Comcast, along with my TV and Internet. They have done remote repairs when we have had problems.

It's been a long time since we had Verizon for our phone. Don't remember ever having to pay them to come out, but we don't have a lot of problems with our landline.

I also have a Tracfone and DH has a Verizon cell, because he doesn't want to have to say "Can you hear me now?"

If I were to get rid of the landline, I would go with a different phone than Tracfone. I think I would go with Virgin Mobile. They have a plan with unlimited text and interet for $35, don't know how many talk minutes they have. We don't use our phones much at all, landline or cell.
__________________
CarolPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 12:59 PM   #18369
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarolPa View Post
Do you mean that their landline and cell phone have the same number? [snip]
No, they do not have a landline. They have a cell phone that uses a landline #. I don't know if the number is the same number they used to have when they had a landline... If they transferred it, but I'm thinking they must have.
__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 02:26 PM   #18370
Master Chef
 
Aunt Bea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: near Mount Pilot
Posts: 7,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacanis View Post
No, they do not have a landline. They have a cell phone that uses a landline #. I don't know if the number is the same number they used to have when they had a landline... If they transferred it, but I'm thinking they must have.
I'm glad CarolPA asked that question, I was getting confused.

I can get phone service from the local cable company or buy a unit from Walmart, they both resemble a landline but, they really are wireless cell phones not landlines. I don't see much advantage to going that route. Too many choices for my poor old head, I will stop at the Verizon store tomorrow and ask a lot of stupid questions, we'll see!
__________________

__________________
Aunt Bea is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.