"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions

Old 06-09-2015, 02:28 PM   #23411
Chef Extraordinaire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
I started out on a spreadsheet program I don't remember the name of then moved on to Lotus 1-2-3 and then Excel. For a guy who's as weird about numbers as I am, spreadsheets are a great toy to play with.
VisiCalc or Multiplan? My dad is a financial advisor for a school system in the '80s. I remember him telling me about the spreadsheets he was using at work - he was so excited!

I was a spreadsheet expert for a while, but then I started doing graphic and website design and left it behind. DH has surpassed me; part of his job is analyzing science test data for the school system.

Old 06-09-2015, 02:46 PM   #23412
Certified Pretend Chef

It may have been Visicalc, not sure. I was so excited when we got our first IBM PC in the office. It took a 5.25" floppy and had minimal RAM but we were amazed at what we could do.

Our first home computer was an Apple IIC "for the kids to do their homework". It had a 9" monitor. Yikes.

Old 06-09-2015, 04:46 PM   #23413
Chef Extraordinaire

Send a message via Skype™ to taxlady
Talk of fried baloney always reminds me of this story. A few guys were discussing the virtues and drawbacks of "cowboy steak". At some point Friend 1 said, "It's good poor people food." Friend 2 looks shocked, "You eat baloney when you have money. When you're poor you eat salmon." (Friend 2 lives on a reserve that is known for its salmon run.)
Old 06-09-2015, 08:43 PM   #23414
Chef Extraordinaire

Quote:
Originally Posted by taxlady View Post