When it comes tax time

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

amber

Executive Chef
Which do you all prefer...do you do your own with a tax program such as Turbo tax, go to a private accountant, do your own, or go to a popular place?

I typically go to a popular place, but their fees are getting outrageous to do simple taxes.

Thoughts?

I do accounting work for a living, but I have used Turbo Tax. It's kinda fun, although it only includes the federal form. For the state form, you have to purchase an add on. The forms aren't hard to figure out on your own, if you have a simple return. The problem anymore is getting a book - so many people are doing it through programs or services that they don't send them out anymore.

BC

I worked in finance. For many years, I did taxes by hand. As things got complicated, I switched to TurboTax. It works quite well and you don't have to know accounting to use it.

Since I lost Paul Oct.23,2006 will I still be able to file for 2 or am i going to have to file for the year as a single??

He always did our taxes so I am in the dark..
Marge

Am virtually certain, if they have not changed things very recently, you can file jointly for '06.

Used tdo them by hand but now use TurboTax. It is great, if you suddently find a statement for 5 dollars interest you forgot to add you just put it in and the rest is calculated instantly without having to crank through all of the numbers by yourself.

Also can enter data (interest, dividends) that sort of thing as the papers come in and don't have to do it all at once.

Con't care what I have to pay for TurboTax (it's pretty reasonable though) would do it.

We use a CPA. Used to do turbo tax, but we made the switch a few years back due to a few extra holdings and such.

John