"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions

Old 08-14-2012, 11:22 PM   #1
Senior Cook

Why does the day before "things" often feel like the possible last meal?

I'm going for a little procedure Thursday (gallbladder bit the dust - hope I don't). Now, I am a Nurse, & I know how miniscule this is, but since I first found out it's actually going to be removed I've been acting like each meal is my last. A little enencouragement maybe? I have had worse medical experiences. I realize my emotional mind is doing it's own little private thing while my actual brain is taking a sabbatical on the subject leaving me an anxious mess. Also it would help to know that when I get upset or anxious I cook, & bake & cook & bake & cook & bake - and, well you get the picture. I haven't been on here in a while because I've either been very sick or working or cooking. TODAY ALONE I made 3 dozen banana split bread muffins, 2 dozen blueberry muffins, 2 dozen ginger bread muffins, 2 gallons of chicken ala king, 2 gallons of potato soup, pear sauce, tater tot casserole plus 2 pizzas. We only ate the pizzas. The rest? Possible meals for the family post surgery. Tomorrow it will be lemon poppy seed muffins, apple cinnamon muffins, cranberry orange muffins &roughly 5 pounds of chili. I see that really I made a couple of entrees and whole lotta muffins today. And tomorrow I shall continue. If I don't check in for a while, you all will know why. Just in case: thanks for the advice, & entertainment. Hopefully we will chat again soon.

Old 08-14-2012, 11:29 PM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

We humans are a weird bunch. For example, I am the world champion at thinking of the worst possible outcomes for any event associated with my health. I'm having shoulder surgery next month and I will be sleepless over it the night before.