Why does the day before "things" often feel like the possible last meal?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FluffyAngel

Senior Cook
I'm going for a little procedure Thursday (gallbladder bit the dust - hope I don't). Now, I am a Nurse, & I know how miniscule this is, but since I first found out it's actually going to be removed I've been acting like each meal is my last. A little enencouragement maybe? I have had worse medical experiences. I realize my emotional mind is doing it's own little private thing while my actual brain is taking a sabbatical on the subject leaving me an anxious mess. Also it would help to know that when I get upset or anxious I cook, & bake & cook & bake & cook & bake - and, well you get the picture. I haven't been on here in a while because I've either been very sick or working or cooking. TODAY ALONE I made 3 dozen banana split bread muffins, 2 dozen blueberry muffins, 2 dozen ginger bread muffins, 2 gallons of chicken ala king, 2 gallons of potato soup, pear sauce, tater tot casserole plus 2 pizzas. We only ate the pizzas. The rest? Possible meals for the family post surgery. Tomorrow it will be lemon poppy seed muffins, apple cinnamon muffins, cranberry orange muffins &roughly 5 pounds of chili. I see that really I made a couple of entrees and whole lotta muffins today. And tomorrow I shall continue. If I don't check in for a while, you all will know why. Just in case: thanks for the advice, & entertainment. Hopefully we will chat again soon.

We humans are a weird bunch. For example, I am the world champion at thinking of the worst possible outcomes for any event associated with my health. I'm having shoulder surgery next month and I will be sleepless over it the night before.