Will I ever become a restaurateur?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hyperion

Senior Cook
I'm 26. Like many people, at this point of my life I'm still looking for the right career for myself. Currently I'm a network engineer doing consulting work. Is it my right choice? I don't know, because

1. I feel I still have a lot of potential to develop certain skills, especially people skills, so even though right now I'm a bit lacking on that I might become better later - or not.
2. In general, nowadays very few people's first job becomes their life-long career. So expect myself to switch later on.

If you ask me where my passion is, I say it's cooking. I have a dream of owning my restaurants and cooking out unique style dishes for people. Everyday my most anticipated activity is cooking dinner. But, I have the following issues:

1. I never had any formal training on cooking, and there is no "family recipe" since nobody in my family is good cook (except my late grandfather whose career was a chef, but I didn't get to learn anything from him). Besides the little experience I got from cooking since 16, I learned mostly everything from Alton Brown.

2. I will have to provide a stable life for my wife and upcoming daughter in a couple of months. So I will need to constantly have a well-paid job that matches up my current salary, in order to feed my family (my wife doesn't work because she wants to watch over the baby). This rules out any possibility of going to a cooking school, and abandoning my current job and trying to work as a chef with no prior experience while hoping to keep the same salary is also impossible.

3. Being an immigrant, I have no family heritage (money, that is) to fund a business.

4. I have this... thing... against dessert. I just don't like eating dessert or cooking it. I'm more of a savory guy.