"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2007, 09:27 AM   #1
Head Chef
 
Mylegsbig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,291
Windows Question - Monitor Display

I have two monitors and my friend set it up so that they are like one large screen ...ie you can drag one window to the other screen, etc

How can i change it so when i play a game or open an application it only opens on one of the screens? I only want my games and apps to open on the left screen....this is Windows XP...thanks in advance guys

__________________

__________________
3..2..1.. HUSTLE! HUSTLE!
Mylegsbig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 09:28 AM   #2
Head Chef
 
Mylegsbig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,291
here is a pic of it...

__________________

__________________
3..2..1.. HUSTLE! HUSTLE!
Mylegsbig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 11:33 AM   #3
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 41,393
What would happen if you unplug one of the monitors and rebooted.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 11:49 AM   #4
Head Chef
 
Mylegsbig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,291
lol, not sure, trying to go more of a "settings" type route...
__________________
3..2..1.. HUSTLE! HUSTLE!
Mylegsbig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 12:05 PM   #5
Chef Extraordinaire
 
buckytom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: My mountain
Posts: 18,766
you need to change the set up in your video card.

you must have a dual output video card, so you have to go into the settings for it to tell it to turn off the dual display.

often, there is an icon in your task bar on the lower right, next to the time, that if you right click, it will aloow you to acces the video adapter settings.
__________________
in nomine patri, et fili, et spiritus sancti.


Meh nom eh noh...doot dooooo do do do.
buckytom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 12:06 PM   #6
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
It depends on how it is set up, but for starters you can right click on the desktop then click on properties and then click on the setting tab. You should be able to switch it there (I think).
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 12:11 PM   #7
Head Chef
 
keltin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Down South in Alabama
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via AIM to keltin
It should be a setting in your video card’s drivers. Right click on the desktop and then click on either “Properties” or a video “Control Panel” (such as NVIDIA) that may be present. Then change the settings there. You’re looking for extended desktop modes or monitor modes. If Clone Mode is an option, it will mirror the same image on both monitors which is one way of doing it, but defeats the purpose of two monitors. Span will stretch it across both which is what you have now. There may be other modes available depending on who made the card and driver. There should be a setting for setting which monitor is considered primary. Set it to your left monitor.

However, because of the way games work with DirectX, this will still be a less than ideal setup. When the game runs, it will set the display of the primary monitor to its native resolution which will cause a resolution shift in your right (secondary) monitor. Icons and applications will often shift off the screen. This means that basically, the second monitor isn’t very useful when playing a game that takes control of the desktop resolution. A workaround to this is to set the resolution of the primary monitor to the games resolution before playing so that there is no shift, or just deal with it as the resolution will return to normal once the game has been minimized (ALT+ESC) or ended.

Some times, the only way to do this is to turn off the secondary monitor before you start the game. It really depends on the card and your driver.
__________________
keltin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 12:55 PM   #8
Head Chef
 
Mylegsbig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,291
wow, awesome guys, thanks so much.

Keltin you are a jack of all trades aren't you?

lol
__________________

__________________
3..2..1.. HUSTLE! HUSTLE!
Mylegsbig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.