Worst Kitchen Accidents!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chipotle Tom

Senior Cook
I saw this as a proposed topic, so I thought I would begin it. What's your worst kitchen accident (home or professional)?

For me, it would be when I was a cook in the Army. I had just been assigned to my permanent duty station, and I was at the fryer cooking some french fries for the short order line. Well, the metal hook at the end of the basket was pinched together a little, so it wasn't very easy to get it to latch on. I'm sure you can see what's coming next. I tried to hang the basket up using the catch, but it slid right past it and splashed down in the hot grease, which sprayed all over me.

Fortunately, I had my wits about me. I took off my apron and ran over to the sink and put all splashed areas under cold running water. My quick thinking got me away with only first degree burns. :ROFLMAO:

Okay, your turn!

:)My first one I was slicing meat on a meat slicer for the first time some how I managed to nick my little finger I learned then to slice using handle.Second one was at the same place I was trying to slice tomatoes with one of those big long slicing knives meant to slice roasts I ended up cutting the end of my thumb off.This also the same place I was lifting a big pot off the overhead pot rack and the giant heavy hook also came off hitting me in the head now that really hurt had a big bump my hair feel out on the bump a few days later:hammer:.I was really young at the time.I have more doozies to tell but will save for later.

I’ve got many! I’ve always been a bit accident prone and wonder why I’m still alive sometimes! :LOL: