"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > Forum Admin: Tech Support & Announcements
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2013, 11:48 AM   #21
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Katie H's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Posts: 15,047
I'm using AdBlock Plus and the banner still pops up. When I disable Java, I can't use smilies here and I can't execute some of the functions on Facebook. Ugh!
__________________

__________________
"As a girl I had zero interest in the stove." - Julia Child
This is real inspiration. Look what Julia became!
Katie H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:03 PM   #22
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 40,957
Interesting. I also use Firefox (18.0) with ABP and NEVER see an ad/banner.

Maybe because I have a Mac or maybe because our settings for blocking are different.
__________________

__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:16 PM   #23
Master Chef
 
FrankZ's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 9,623
Katie,

Try logging out then dumping your browser cache. Close the browser once you do (all sessions) and then restart it and log back in.

You WILL get that banner if you are not logged in.
__________________
"First you start with a pound of bologna..."
-My Grandmother on how to make ham salad.
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:20 PM   #24
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Zhizara's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 12,537
I've got Windows 7 with the current Firefox and AdBlock Plus. I just tried logging off and back on. The banner appeared on my sign on screen, but disappeared as soon as I went to the new posts.

I realize I've seen it before, in the same place. The last time I saw it, I closed it with the X, but never have had it stay. Could it be Java? I keep it up to date.

Could it could be that another add on or plug in is interfering with ABP's efficiency?
__________________

If you can't see the bright side of life, polish the dull side.
Zhizara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:47 PM   #25
Everymom
 
Alix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 23,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
Interesting. I also use Firefox (18.0) with ABP and NEVER see an ad/banner.

Maybe because I have a Mac or maybe because our settings for blocking are different.
I'm on a Mac too! Sounds like we have the same danged system. Maybe I missed an upgrade? I'll go check. The freaking thing is gone now though. Thank goodness.
__________________
You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. Robin Williams
Alix
Alix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:13 PM   #26
Sous Chef
 
no mayonnaise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 553
Use AdBlock Lite, not AdBlock Plus. Huge difference. ABP recently started allowing certain ads due to website owners complaining about lost revenue. ABL does no such thing and blocks ALL ads. Just sayin'. Sorry Chrome folks, they don't make it for you guys.
While we're at it, I recommend Ghostery, BetterPrivacy, and NoScript in addition to AdBlock Lite. Though fair warning, NoScript does have a learning curve to use properly and if you aren't using it correctly, a good portion of most websites will be totally non-functional. And if you're running Ghostery and AdBlock you'll have to configure them so they don't step on each others' toes trying to block the same content. But on the flip side, I'm enjoying a 100% ad-free, spam-free, tracker-free and SAFE internet and it goes oh-so-much faster.
__________________
no mayonnaise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:22 PM   #27
Master Chef
 
FrankZ's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 9,623
I appreciate ABP allowing some ads through. They are supposed to meet certain requirement and the Internet is not free. Sites like this are expensive to maintain and ads help generate the revenue to keep us up and running.
__________________
"First you start with a pound of bologna..."
-My Grandmother on how to make ham salad.
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:28 PM   #28
Sous Chef
 
no mayonnaise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 553
I'd rather my pages load faster without ads and trackers. Ads track your internet use. I'm extremely paranoid about my internet use being tracked and I do a lot to make it difficult for my internet use to be tracked by anyone but my ISP. And even then I use Tor a bunch to obfuscate that aspect as well.
__________________

__________________
no mayonnaise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.