"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > Forum Admin: Tech Support & Announcements
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2006, 09:48 PM   #1
Head Chef
 
tancowgirl2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,489
Send a message via Yahoo to tancowgirl2000
Unhappy Can you Help?

K.....since I hooked up my computer again...different one....my keyboard has lost its brains.......or something......here's what happens....


"....thats supposed to be the @ symbol
@....thats supposed to be the "symbol
#.....is the colon or something sybol, the one right beside the "back" key..the one that deletes but isnt called the delete key.....
....is supposed to be the pound key shift +3...you know....

Any idea what is going on and how I can fix this? The computer guy said it might be set for a different #'ed key boasrd but those all are basics on any board arent they? And I really dont know where to look....

Hope you can help.....
someone??????
please????

__________________

__________________
"24 hours in a day, 24 beers in a case. Coincidence? I think not."
~ Stephen Wright
tancowgirl2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 10:07 PM   #2
Master Chef
 
SierraCook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sierra Valley, Northern California, USA
Posts: 5,580
Go to the control panel on your computer and double click on the keyboard icon. In the keyboard properties window click on the hardware tab. Then click on the properties button. There it will tell you if your keyboard is working properly. There also should be a troubleshooting button that you can click on for more help. Also, on my computer the keyboard needs to be plugged into a specific port. Make sure that if it is required to be plugged into a specific port that it is done on your computer. Good luck!!
__________________

__________________
Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.

Theodore Roosevelt
26th president of US (1858 - 1919)
SierraCook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 10:11 PM   #3
Master Chef
 
SierraCook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sierra Valley, Northern California, USA
Posts: 5,580
Upon further thinking, if you have switched computers you probably should reinstall any software that is required for your keyboard on that computer. I bet that since you switched computers your keyboard drivers are different. Reinstalling the software should fix that problem, if that is what happened.
__________________
Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.

Theodore Roosevelt
26th president of US (1858 - 1919)
SierraCook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 11:11 PM   #4
Head Chef
 
tancowgirl2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,489
Send a message via Yahoo to tancowgirl2000
Sounds great but no matter which key board I try the results are still the same. Ive done the trouble shooting....dont have the "dick" it wants me to run, It says it is working properly....I swear I am stumped...I could see if its one key board but 3? I dont get it

Thanks though I do appriciate that advicece, I should have mentioned it before.....
__________________
"24 hours in a day, 24 beers in a case. Coincidence? I think not."
~ Stephen Wright
tancowgirl2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 11:29 AM   #5
Sous Chef
 
Skittle68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 985
Please help! I need to do an online assessment for work, and my phone doesn't have the system requirements. My laptop will not let me connect to the Internet! The status says connected, 400 Mbps, but when I try to do anything it says I'm offline. I've tried running the network wizard, and the connection wizard, but I'm not coming up with anything. I also tried repairing the connections, and one of them said it could t renew the IP address. It is plugged in, not on a wireless connection. Any ideas?
__________________
Skittle68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 11:38 AM   #6
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Dawgluver's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23,475
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skittle68
Please help! I need to do an online assessment for work, and my phone doesn't have the system requirements. My laptop will not let me connect to the Internet! The status says connected, 400 Mbps, but when I try to do anything it says I'm offline. I've tried running the network wizard, and the connection wizard, but I'm not coming up with anything. I also tried repairing the connections, and one of them said it could t renew the IP address. It is plugged in, not on a wireless connection. Any ideas?
Can you use a friend's computer, or go to the library or workplace and log in there? Do you or BF have a tech support person through work? Just to get through the assessment, then figure out the fix later.
__________________
She who dies with the most toys, wins.
Dawgluver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 11:47 AM   #7
Sous Chef
 
Skittle68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawgluver

Can you use a friend's computer, or go to the library or workplace and log in there? Do you or BF have a tech support person through work? Just to get through the assessment, then figure out the fix later.
If nothin else I can probably use a friends computer, but I'd really like to get this figured out. Thanks!
__________________
Skittle68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 12:02 PM   #8
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Dawgluver's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23,475
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skittle68

If nothin else I can probably use a friends computer, but I'd really like to get this figured out. Thanks!
What network are you on? How do you usually connect? Sometimes there are outages. Can you contact your provider? I have found our provider (Verizon) to be very helpful when I haven't been able to connect.
__________________
She who dies with the most toys, wins.
Dawgluver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 12:04 PM   #9
Everymom
 
Alix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 23,184
Skittle, check to see if you have Work Offline accidentally checked off. Click the File tab and look down to the bottom.
__________________
You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. Robin Williams
Alix
Alix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 12:20 PM   #10
Sous Chef
 
Skittle68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alix
Skittle, check to see if you have Work Offline accidentally checked off. Click the File tab and look down to the bottom.
Nope :( when I open Internet explorer it says no Internet connection is available, and asks if I want to work offline or try again. If I try again it just says cannot find server.

I usually use wireless, but that wasn't working so I thought I might have better luck connecting directly. I can't imagine it would be my ISP- my iPhone connects and uses the wifi with no problem...
__________________

__________________
Skittle68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.