Request for using "Quote"

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dragnlaw

Site Team
Staff member
I belonged to another forum that uses the exact same format as DC.

I would like to make a suggestion and am hoping that no one takes umbrage. Being a newbie I'm browsing around reading a lot of the posts.

But then I lose interest in the thread, reason being is everyone is "quoting" the post that they are commenting on. There is certainly no harm in that but some of the posts are quite long and if three people "quote" the same long post - it gets a bit tedious to scroll thru and read.

When you quote it is simple to delete the parts that are not really integral to your reply. Or to put it another way, you only leave in what you are actually refering to in your reply. If you feel the whole thing is what you are replying on - there must be a key note that made you sit up and want to reply that you could choose.

You simply must be careful not to delete the 'square quotation marks' at the beginning and at the end. You can always 'Preview Post' to make sure it is what you want.

It really is so much tidier and nothing is lost in the translation. And newbies like me can read past threads without getting bogged down.

Thanks for listening.

example

I would like to make a suggestion
You simply must be careful not to delete the 'square quotation marks' at the beginning and at the end. You can always 'Preview Post' to make sure it is what you want.

The square bracket at the top of the quote " ] " and the one at the bottom " [ "

I belonged to another forum that uses the exact same format as DC.

I would like to make a suggestion and am hoping that no one takes umbrage. Being a newbie I'm browsing around reading a lot of the posts.